Deleting your invoices can be a sensitive topic so we want to go over the different scenarios you may run into during this process to make sure all the bases get covered.

Deleting an invoice is easy, simply watch this video or follow the steps below:

1)  Click on the "Trash Can" icon right next to the name of the Invoice.

2) A message box will ask to confirm if you're sure, just click on "Yes" to delete. 

Alternatively, you can delete invoices by: 

1) Clicking on the "Invoices" main tab. 

2) Select the invoice(s) you want to delete by selecting the check box on the left.

3) Click on the settings cog showing "Items selected" and click on "Delete". 

This same process can be done within a contact or matter under the "Invoices" sub-tab. 

Pro-tip:To learn how to recover a deleted item from the recycling bin, click here


What happens now?

After deleting an invoice, all your time entries, expenses, and fees for flat rate cases will go back into the billable amount for the case.

Important: If an invoice has a payment applied to it, deleting the invoice will not delete the payment automatically. So if we only delete the invoice, the payment will remain in the clients operating "unapplied amount" as a credit waiting to be used in the future.

If you wish to delete the payment all together, simply check the payment on the left hand side under the payments sub-tab of your matter, then click on the blue "settings" icon, and click on "Delete". 


If you wish to leave the payment in operating as credit and use it later, when generating the next invoice, make sure to have "Use Operating Account Balance" payment option turned to "Yes" as seen below.

Payments Applied from Trust

If the applied payment on the deleted invoice was originally a payment from the trust account, the transfer payments will still exist on the matter, so the money will be located in the operating "unapplied amount" section as a credit to be used in the future, as seen below.


To reverse the transfer and place the money back into the trust account, simply delete the two transfer payments found in the payments tab of this matter.

If you wish to leave the payment in operating as credit and use it later, when generating the next invoice, make sure to have "Use Operating Account Balance" payment option turned to "Yes" as seen below.

What happens now? 

After you save the invoice, the unapplied amount will now be applied towards the invoice you were creating. 

Note: If the deleted invoice was sent to a client, the client will still have the email that was sent, but the link to view the invoice will be not go anywhere. To fix this, simply re-send the newest invoice you create next.

Enjoy!

Did this answer your question?